Dentistry: Databases

Browse our databases alphabetically, by format type, or subject. To view the Library's collection of EBM databases, select the Evidence-Based Medicine subject heading from the drop-down list of options.

NHIS is a continuing nationwide survey (1957 to present) of the U.S. civilian non-institutionalized population conducted in households. Each week a probability sample of households is interviewed by trained personnel of the U.S. Bureau of the Census to obtain information about the health and other characteristics of each living member of the sample household. (Note: CDC surveys are great sources of validated questions on a wide variety of health/social topics. The questionnaires are available for each survey.)

NHANES collects information about the health and diet of people in the United States. It is unique in that it combines a home interview with health tests that are done in a mobile examination center. (Note: CDC surveys are great sources of validated questions on a wide variety of health/social topics. The questionnaires are available for each survey.)

The NHCS is a collection of health care provider surveys, obtaining information about the facilities that supply health care, the services rendered, and the characteristics of the patients served. Note: NHCS replaced the National Hospital Discharge Survey, 1965-2010. (Note: CDC surveys are great sources of validated questions on a wide variety of health/social topics. The questionnaires are available for each survey.)

A large on-going survey of immunization coverage among U.S. preschool children (19 - 35 months old). Results are used to identify groups at risk of contracting vaccine-preventable diseases; to stimulate efforts to increase coverage; and to evaluate how well the efforts work. (Note: CDC surveys are great sources of validated questions on a wide variety of health/social topics. The questionnaires are available for each survey.)

This is the primary source of information on the prevalence, patterns, and consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian non-institutionalized population, aged 12 and older. (Note: CDC surveys are great sources of validated questions on a wide variety of health/social topics. The questionnaires are available for each survey.)

The YRBSS includes national, state, and local school-based surveys of representative samples of students in grades 9-12. These surveys are conducted by CDC every two years, usually during the spring semester. (Note: CDC surveys are great sources of validated questions on a wide variety of health/social topics. The questionnaires are available for each survey.)

BRFSS is the world’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the United States. A federal and state partnership allows data collection at the national, state and local levels. (Note: CDC surveys are great sources of validated questions on a wide variety of health/social topics. The questionnaires are available for each survey.)

A continuous, multipurpose survey of a nationally representative sample of aged, disabled, and institutionalized Medicare beneficiaries. MCBS produces two files annually, Access to Care and Cost and Use.

Community Oral Health & Health Policy

Covering public health topics from adolescent health to water resources.

An evidence-based, integrated, searchable knowledge base of genetic associations and human genome epidemiology.

An integrated, searchable knowledge base of cancer human genome epidemiology and genomic applications in cancer care and prevention.

PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE, the authoritative database of the National Library of Mediicne

Ovid provides citations from MEDLINE, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.

Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database of research literature and web resources. The database provides records to articles in the biomedical, life, and social sciences. Coverage is comprehensive and extensive in scope with the database containing all journals currently indexed in both MEDLINE and EmBase.

Web of Science is composed of three major citation indices covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. The database provides researchers quick access to scholarly information from a large number of high-impact journals, books, and conference proceedings.

DOSS covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics.

Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.

CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.

Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.

A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not permitted.

Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.

VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.

Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.

Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.