LibGuides: Dentistry: Databases

Helpful Hint!

Complete Listing of BHSL Databases
Browse our databases alphabetically, by format type, or subject. To view the Library's collection of EBM databases, select the Evidence-Based Medicine subject heading from the drop-down list of options.

The databases listed on this page are specifically recommended for dental care research.

Still can't find what you are looking for? The Baylor Health Sciences Library subscribes to over 100 databases covering topics from the humanities to the biomedical sciences. You may access these resources through the link below:

Featured Database

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS)
DOSS covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics.

ADA Evidence Database
Browse systematic reviews, critical summaries and practice guidelines by dental topics.

Drug Information Databases

Epocrates Online Premium
Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.
AccessPharmacy
Natural Medicines
Formerly "Natural Standard"
LexiComp Online for Dentistry
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.
more...less...
-Drug Information for Dentistry
-Dental Office Medical Emergencies
-Natural Therapeutics
-Clinician's Endodontic Handbook
-Oral Soft Tissue Diseases
-Oral Hard Tissue Diseases
-Manual of Dental Implants
-Manual of Clinical Periodontics
-Oral Surgery for the General Dentist
-Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
-Your Roadmap to Financial Integrity in the Dental Practice
-Little Dental Drug Booklet

Quick Links: The Cochrane Library

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.
more...less...
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is part of the collection of evidence-based medical databases in the Cochrane Library.
Cochrane Methodology Register

Practice Guidelines and Recommendations

ADA Center for Evidence Based Dentistry
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly. Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.
CDC Division of Oral Health
Cochrane Collaboration Oral Health Review Group
The Cochrane Oral Health Review Group comprises an international network of healthcare professionals, researchers and consumers preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials in oral health. Oral health is broadly conceived to include the prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of oral, dental and craniofacial diseases and disorders.

General Literature Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE, the authoritative database of the National Library of Mediicne
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid provides citations from MEDLINE, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database of research literature and web resources. The database provides records to articles in the biomedical, life, and social sciences. Coverage is comprehensive and extensive in scope with the database containing all journals currently indexed in both MEDLINE and EmBase.
more...less...
Scopus is updated daily. A noted feature of the database allows users to easily view the number of times an article is cited and connect to its cited references. Other online tools include a journal analyzer that comparatively graphs the number of articles published and total number of citations among other measurable journal impact factors.
Web of Science
Web of Science is composed of three major citation indices covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. The database provides researchers quick access to scholarly information from a large number of high-impact journals, books, and conference proceedings.

Evidence-Based Medicine Databases

ADA Database of Systematic Reviews
This section of the ADA's EBD Web site has a database of systematic reviews that are clinically relevant to healthcare in dental settings and is categorized by clinical topic.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.
more...less...
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is part of the collection of evidence-based medical databases in the Cochrane Library.

Clinical Decision Support Tools

LexiComp Online for Dentistry
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.
more...less...
-Drug Information for Dentistry
-Dental Office Medical Emergencies
-Natural Therapeutics
-Clinician's Endodontic Handbook
-Oral Soft Tissue Diseases
-Oral Hard Tissue Diseases
-Manual of Dental Implants
-Manual of Clinical Periodontics
-Oral Surgery for the General Dentist
-Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
-Your Roadmap to Financial Integrity in the Dental Practice
-Little Dental Drug Booklet
UpToDate
A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not permitted.
more...less...
Both VisualDx and Lexicomp are integrated into the UpToDate database. Lexicomp is only available to TAMBCD patrons.
Epocrates Online Premium
Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.
more...less...
The database is integrated with UpToDate.
MDConsult
MDConsult is an integrated collection of medical resources that provides healthcare professionals with reliable answers to clinical questions at point-of-care.
more...less...
The database includes peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, customizable patient-education handouts, drug information materials through Gold Standard, continuing education credit opportunities, full-content privileges for over 80 journals, and full-text access to over 50 leading medical reference books.