Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OMS Conditions and Treatments
Treatment Practice Guidelines
Definition from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network:
"Clinical practice guidelines are decision tools that are created by doctors to explain a disease and determine the best way to treat a patient, depending on their diagnosis, disease stage, and other factors, such as age. They help doctors make decisions, by explaining the pros and cons of each option."
National Comprehensive Cancer Network (Patient-Level)
NCCN Guidelines for Patients are meant to help patients with cancer talk with their physicians about the best treatment options for their disease. View NCCN guidelines for patients by cancer type.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The NGC mission is to provide an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use. View guidelines by cancer type.
AHRQ Evidence-Based Cancer Reports
AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice Centers review relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical topics to produce various types of evidence reports. The link takes you directly to evidence-based reports on cancer.
Searching PubMed Training Guide
PubMed is the most widely used database in our collection. Below is a PubMed training resource developed by the Baylor Health Sciences Library. Included in the guide are instructions on searching, filtering results, obtaining appropriate study types, and finding full-text.
For more help on finding high-level evidence in PubMed view our Searching PubMed page.
For a fullscreen view of the guide below, please click on the icon at the bottom right-hand corner of presentation.
(Note: If you are unable to view the training guide below, you may access the resource here.)
Identifying Study Type: Method 1
Study Design Table image from:
Clinical Trials: Blood Cancers
Clinical Trials at Baylor
Find information about active research trials on leukemia, lymphoma, and myeloma at Baylor. Search trials by condition and diagnosis. Narrow results by location.
Note: See the MedlinePlus Blood Cancer Health Topic Pages for prepared searches of the ClinicalTrials.gov database to find clinical studies on leukemia, lymphoma, and multiple myeloma.
Featured Resource: SpringerProtocols
SpringerProtocols contains more than 30,000 life science and biomedical laboratory protocols organized into searchable subject categories. The resource includes video protocols and all content from the series Methods in Molecular Biology.
(Note: The database may take a few moments to initially load. We are working to resolve the issue.)
JoVE Science Education Database: A Resource for Students
JoVE: Essentials of Developmental Biology
New!! Full access available until December 31, 2014. This collection is divided into five sub-categories: developmental genetics, molecular developmental biology, stem cell biology, organogenesis, and aging and regeneration.
JoVE Science Education teaches laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. Is this a useful resource? Let us know!
Email the library at firstname.lastname@example.org with your feedback.