Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bioinformatics Resource Directories
OBRC: Online Bioinformatics Resource Collection
Developed by the Health Sciences Library at the University of Pittsburgh, OBRC is a manually curated collection of annotations and links to over 2000 bioinformatics databases and software tools.
Canadian Bioinformatics.ca Link Directory
The Bioinformatics Links Directory features curated links to molecular resources, tools and databases. The links listed in this directory are selected on the basis of recommendations from bioinformatics experts in the field. The directory also lists all links contained in the Nucleic Acid Research Webserver issue.
Nucleic Acids Research Online Molecular Biology Database Collection
Nucleic Acids Research publishes an annual issue in January dedicated to peer-reviewed bioinformatics databases. The NAR Online Molecular Biology Database Collection serves as a companion to the issue with links to the journal's peer-reviewed bioinformatics databases organized into fifteen browsable subject categories.
Nucleic Acids Research Online Web Server Collection
Nucleic Acids Research publishes an annual issue in July dedicated to peer-reviewed bioinformatics web servers. The NAR Online Web Server Collection serves as a companion to the issue with links to the journal's listed peer-reviewed web servers organized into eleven browsable subject categories.
NCBI Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)
The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families.
Organizations and Research Institutes
Bioinformatics Resource Tutorials
Public Health Genomic Databases
Core Bioinformatics Portals
Quick Links to Selected Bioinformatics Resources