Dentistry: Databases

Browse our databases alphabetically, by format type, or subject. To view the Library's collection of EBM databases, select the Evidence-Based Medicine subject heading from the drop-down list of options.

DOSS covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics.

Endodontics Topics - Critical Summaries & Systematic Reviews

Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.

Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.

Micromedex facilitates evidence-based decision making in the areas of drug selection, disease and condition management, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It even addresses specific questions, such as dosing and IV compatibility. Contains the Micromedex databases: POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, PDR, Martindale, TOMES, and Drug-Reax, and Tomes, and the drug information tools: Martindales, PDR, Material safety data sheets prepared by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, and Index nominum.

Formerly "Natural Standard"

Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.

CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.

AnatomyTV (3D Head & Neck for Dentistry, 3D Real Time Dentistry, and 3D Anatomy for Dental Hygiene) is an interactive database of dental images and animation videos for educators, students and dental professionals. The resource includes animations, MRI scans, dissections, clinical slides, and diagrams.

PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE, the authoritative database of the National Library of Mediicne

Ovid provides citations from MEDLINE, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.

Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database of research literature and web resources. The database provides records to articles in the biomedical, life, and social sciences. Coverage is comprehensive and extensive in scope with the database containing all journals currently indexed in both MEDLINE and EmBase.

Web of Science is composed of three major citation indices covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. The database provides researchers quick access to scholarly information from a large number of high-impact journals, books, and conference proceedings.

Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.

CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.

Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.

A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not permitted.

Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.

VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.

ClinicalKey is an integrated collection of medical resources that provides healthcare professionals with reliable answers to clinical questions at point-of-care.