LibGuides: Dental Hygiene: Research Support

Tools for Researchers

Where to publish?

BHSL Research Impact Guide Coming Soon.

Measuring Research Impact

Journal Rankings
Citation Analysis
Author Impact
Altmetrics

Tips on Enhancing Research Impact: Assessing the Impact of Research: A Bernard Becker Medical Library Project

Selecting Appropriate Databases

EBM Pyramid -- Finding Evidence
Search selected Baylor Health Sciences Library databases for evidence by study type or information need using an interactive EBM pyramid.

Interlibrary Loan/ Get it for me

Get it for me is an interlibrary loan service for BHSL patrons to place and track requests for journal articles, books, and other resources.

We’ll copy in-house or acquire what you need from another library, and deliver it to you electronically or in print.

Select the Get it for me link to sign in or register. A paper request form is available on the Library's website as well.

Research Assistance

The Baylor Health Sciences Library provides faculty and students with the following research support services:

Orientation to the Library's services and resources
Individual and group instruction on selecting appropriate resources, formulating answerable clinical questions and effectively searching the databases for relevant, high-level evidence
Guidance on using EndNote to organize references and creating formatted bibliographies
Development of citation analysis reports

Searching PubMed

The Library provides individual and group instruction on a number of our databases and resources. You may request training sessions by calling us at 214-820-2377.

Tutorials developed by the Library and from the providers of several of our databases may be accessed from our forthcoming Tutorials Guide.

PubMed is the most widely used database in our collection. Below is a PubMed training resource developed by the Baylor Health Sciences Library. Included in the guide are instructions on searching, filtering results, obtaining appropriate study types, and finding full-text.

For more help on finding literature in PubMed view our Searching PubMed page.

Mediated Literature Searches

Expert searchers at The Baylor Health Sciences Library perform mediated literature searches in support of patient care, education and health policy research.

You may contact the Library at 214-828-8151 to request a literature search or simply fill out an online or paper literature search request form here: Literature Search Request.