LibGuides: TAMHSC-COM (Dallas) Clerkships : Psychiatry

Access Databases

AccessMedicine
The database houses a strong collection of more than 75 reputable medical titles including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment. In addition to its electronic library, the database includes diagnostic and point-of-care tools, multimedia content, interactive self-assessment examinations, practice guidelines, patient education materials, case files and a drug database.

General Literature Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE, the authoritative database of the National Library of Mediicne
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid provides citations from MEDLINE, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database of research literature and web resources. The database provides records to articles in the biomedical, life, and social sciences. Coverage is comprehensive and extensive in scope with the database containing all journals currently indexed in both MEDLINE and EmBase.
more...less...
Scopus is updated daily. A noted feature of the database allows users to easily view the number of times an article is cited and connect to its cited references. Other online tools include a journal analyzer that comparatively graphs the number of articles published and total number of citations among other measurable journal impact factors.
Web of Science
Web of Science is composed of three major citation indices covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. The database provides researchers quick access to scholarly information from a large number of high-impact journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Faculty of 1000 Prime
F1000Prime is an in-depth directory to the top articles in biology and medicine. Articles are selected and rated by a peer-nominated global faculty of the world's leading scientists and clinicians. Commentaries on the importance of selected articles are also provided.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is a searchable database of thousands of abstracts from articles, books, dissertations and more in behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. To limit your search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on Search Options or Edit and select the appropriate type of methodology.
PsycARTICLES
A Definitive Source of Full-Text, Peer-Reviewed Scholarly and Scientific Articles in Psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA).

Clinical Decision Support Tools

UpToDate
A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not permitted.
more...less...
Both VisualDx and Lexicomp are integrated into the UpToDate database. Lexicomp is only available to TAMBCD patrons.
Epocrates Online Premium
Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.
more...less...
The database is integrated with UpToDate.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is an integrated collection of medical resources that provides healthcare professionals with reliable answers to clinical questions at point-of-care.
more...less...
The database includes peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, customizable patient-education handouts, drug information materials through Gold Standard, continuing education credit opportunities, full-content privileges for over 80 journals, and full-text access to over 50 leading medical reference books.

Evidence-Based Medicine Databases

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.
more...less...
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is part of the collection of evidence-based medical databases in the Cochrane Library.

Practice Guidelines

CMA Clinical Psychiatry Guidelines
AccessMedicine Guidelines
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly. Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.
NICE Clinical Guidelines
AHRQ Evidence Reports

Organizations

Test Preparation

Books

Use the facets in the left column to narrow your results.

Databases

Exam Master
TAMHSC only
Exam Master provides preparation and review materials for licensing and certification exams in several healthcare fields including dentistry. The online resource allows students to take timed practice tests in preparation for NBDE Part I and USMLE. First-time users must register for an account prior to logging in. Select TAMU Medical Sciences Library as your program.
An Exam Master user guide and other helpful documents can be found at the Exam Master Resources page.

Patient Education Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a freely accessible database of comprehensive patient health education materials put out by the NLM and NIH.
UpToDate Patient Information
Patient information topics are organized into listed health categories. UpToDate provides hundreds of patient information topics, allowing patients and healthcare providers to share in the decision making process.
AccessMedicine: Patient Education Collection
BHSL Patient Education Resources

Psychiatry Clerkship Director

Sid Kelt, MD

TAMU Resources

Please see TAMU's LibGuide on

for more information and resources.

APA Databases

PsycINFO
PsycINFO is a searchable database of thousands of abstracts from articles, books, dissertations and more in behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. To limit your search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on Search Options or Edit and select the appropriate type of methodology.
PsycARTICLES
A Definitive Source of Full-Text, Peer-Reviewed Scholarly and Scientific Articles in Psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA).

Drug Information Databases

Epocrates Online Premium
Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.
AccessPharmacy
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

Medical Calculators and Tests

MedCalc 3000
MedCalc 3000 is an electronic medical reference and analysis tool of calculators, decision trees, clinical criteria sets, equations, and unit and dose converters. Enter specificity, sensitivity or likelihood ratios as search terms.
UptoDate Calculators
Lab Tests Online
A peer-reviewed resource on clinical lab testing to help you understand your tests and lab reports. Search by tests, conditions/diseases, or screening.
ARUP Consult
Physician's guide to laboratory test selection and interpretation.

Videos and Images

Access Suite of Databases
more...less...
AccessMedicine: Watch online Grand Rounds, patient interviews, physical exams, molecular-level animations adapted from Goodman & Gilman's, procedural videos, and animations of procedures.

AccessPediatrics: A library of animations detailing pediatric procedures and exams, and a growing series of pediatric emergency videos.

AccessSurgery: Includes surgical videos from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, and videos featured in several major textbooks. Surgical animations are adapted from Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 8e.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.
more...less...
The database is integrated with UpToDate.
NEJM Videos in Clinical Medicine
Stanford Medicine 25 (Physical Examination)
more...less...
An initiative to revive the culture of bedside medicine. Provides guidance on recognizing the basic phenotypic expression of disease.

TAMHSC-COM (Dallas) Clerkships : Psychiatry

Access Databases

General Literature Databases

Clinical Decision Support Tools

Evidence-Based Medicine Databases

Practice Guidelines

Organizations

Test Preparation

Patient Education Resources

Psychiatry Clerkship Director

TAMU Resources

APA Databases

Drug Information Databases

Medical Calculators and Tests

Videos and Images

Cases