LibGuides: Dental Hygiene: Databases

Helpful Hint!

Complete Listing of BHSL Databases
Browse our databases alphabetically, by format type, or subject. To view the Library's collection of EBM databases, select the Evidence-Based Medicine subject heading from the drop-down list of options.

The databases listed on this page are specifically recommended for dental care research.

Still can't find what you are looking for? The Baylor Health Sciences Library subscribes to over 100 databases covering topics from the humanities to the biomedical sciences. You may access these resources through the link below:

Featured Databases

CINAHL Complete
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing indexing for more than 3,000 journals, 70 of them full-text. Also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS)
DOSS covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics.
ADA Clinical Practice Guidelines & Dental Evidence
Dental Hygiene Topics - Critical Summaries & Systematic Reviews

Google Scholar

Rare Diseases Databases

GARD (Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center)
The GARD Information Center was created in 2002 by the Office of Rare Diseases Research (ORDR) and the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI), two agencies of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), to help people find useful information about genetic and rare diseases.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health. Website covers genetic cancer conditions. Includes a medical and genetics terms reference glossary.
NORD Rare Diseases Database
NORD is committed to the identification, treatment, and cure of rare disorders through programs of education, advocacy, research, and service.
Orphanet
Orphanet is the reference portal for information on rare diseases and orphan drugs, for all audiences. Orphanet’s aim is to help improve the diagnosis, care and treatment of patients with rare diseases.
OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)
OMIM is an online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders intended for use primarily by physicians and other professionals concerned with genetic disorders, by genetics researchers, and by advanced students in science and medicine.

AnatomyTV: A Resource for Educators and Students

AnatomyTV Real Time Dentistry
AnatomyTV (3D Head & Neck for Dentistry, 3D Real Time Dentistry, and 3D Anatomy for Dental Hygiene) is an interactive database of dental images and animation videos for educators, students and dental professionals. The resource includes animations, MRI scans, dissections, clinical slides, and diagrams.
more...less...
The resource provides users with a multimedia encyclopedic image library to enhance consultations, presentations, teaching and study.

Image Credit: Ovid Primal Pictures

General Literature Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE, the authoritative database of the National Library of Mediicne
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid provides citations from MEDLINE, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database of research literature and web resources. The database provides records to articles in the biomedical, life, and social sciences. Coverage is comprehensive and extensive in scope with the database containing all journals currently indexed in both MEDLINE and EmBase.
more...less...
Scopus is updated daily. A noted feature of the database allows users to easily view the number of times an article is cited and connect to its cited references. Other online tools include a journal analyzer that comparatively graphs the number of articles published and total number of citations among other measurable journal impact factors.
Web of Science
Web of Science is composed of three major citation indices covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. The database provides researchers quick access to scholarly information from a large number of high-impact journals, books, and conference proceedings.

Evidence-Based Medicine Databases

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.
more...less...
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is part of the collection of evidence-based medical databases in the Cochrane Library.

Drug Information Databases

LexiComp Online for Dentistry
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.
more...less...
-Drug Information for Dentistry
-Dental Office Medical Emergencies
-Natural Therapeutics
-Clinician's Endodontic Handbook
-Oral Soft Tissue Diseases
-Oral Hard Tissue Diseases
-Manual of Dental Implants
-Manual of Clinical Periodontics
-Oral Surgery for the General Dentist
-Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
-Your Roadmap to Financial Integrity in the Dental Practice
-Little Dental Drug Booklet
Epocrates Online Premium
Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.

Clinical Decision Support Tools

LexiComp Online for Dentistry
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides reference information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions.
more...less...
-Drug Information for Dentistry
-Dental Office Medical Emergencies
-Natural Therapeutics
-Clinician's Endodontic Handbook
-Oral Soft Tissue Diseases
-Oral Hard Tissue Diseases
-Manual of Dental Implants
-Manual of Clinical Periodontics
-Oral Surgery for the General Dentist
-Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
-Your Roadmap to Financial Integrity in the Dental Practice
-Little Dental Drug Booklet
Epocrates Online Premium
Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.
more...less...
The database is integrated with UpToDate.

Quick Links: The Cochrane Library

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.
more...less...
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is part of the collection of evidence-based medical databases in the Cochrane Library.
Cochrane Methodology Register