Evidence-Based Practice: BHSL Resources

Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses. The online resource helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. JAMAevidence includes Users' Guide to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice.

Browse our databases alphabetically, by format type, or subject. To view the Library's collection of EBM databases, select the Evidence-Based Medicine subject heading from the drop-down list of options.

Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.

CENTRAL is a bibliographic database that contains the publication details of controlled clinical trials (CCTs) pulled primarily from MEDLINE and EMBASE.

This pre-formulated search in PubMed pulls articles from the book: Users' Guide to the Medical Literature. The search strategy was developed by Connie Schardt at Duke University Medical Center.

A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not permitted.

Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.

VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.

ClinicalKey is an integrated collection of medical resources that provides healthcare professionals with reliable answers to clinical questions at point-of-care.