Finding Evidence - EBM Pyramid - Evidence-Based Practice - LibGuides at Baylor Health Sciences Library

Finding Evidence Using the EBM Pyramid

Search Baylor Health Sciences Library databases for evidence by study type or information need using the interactive pyramid below.

Download this image

Meta-Search Databases

Filtered Resources (Appraised Literature): Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses

Authors of a systematic review ask a specific clinical question, perform a comprehensive literature search, eliminate the poorly done studies and attempt to make practice recommendations based on the well-done studies. A meta-analysis is a systematic review that combines the results of all those studies into a single statistical analysis of results.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Consists of comprehensive topic-based systematic reviews. Subject-driven teams of clinical experts locate and rigorously analyze hundreds of relevant scientific studies and present summaries of the findings of the best studies.
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid provides citations from MEDLINE, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
PubMed: Systematic Reviews
a) Enter your search query. Select the systematic review or meta-analysis filters under Article types OR b) Click on Clinical Queries on PubMed's homepage. Enter your search query and view results under Systematic Reviews.
CINAHL Complete
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing indexing for more than 3,000 journals, 70 of them full-text. Also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP
Covering a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties, Joanna Briggs Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe. Enter search query and select Evidence Summaries and/or Best Practice Information Sheets under Publication types to retrieve CATs.
more...less...
JBI also offers tools to help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program to provide the best possible patient care.

Filtered Resources (Appraised Literature): Critically-Appraised Topics

A summary of a search and critical appraisal of the literature related to a focused clinical question. CATs provide quick access to clinical evidence for informed decision-making.

UpToDate
A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not permitted.
more...less...
Both VisualDx and Lexicomp are integrated into the UpToDate database. Lexicomp is only available to TAMBCD patrons.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly. Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.
AHRQ
AHRQ designated Evidence Based Practice Centers review all relevant scientific literature on clinical, behavioral, and organization and financing topics to produce evidence reports and technology assessments. Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) reports.
more...less...
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) conducts studies on the safety, efficacy, quality, and costs of healthcare delivered in the United States, informing both policymaking and clinical practice standards. The agency maintains a freely accessible database of evidence reports, systematic reviews, practice guidelines, patient education materials, public health data, federal grants, primary and preventive care medical literature, and nursing resources. An Evidence-Based Practice section under Clinical Information facilitates access to EBM literature.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP
Covering a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties, Joanna Briggs Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe. Enter search query and select Evidence Summaries and/or Best Practice Information Sheets under Publication types to retrieve CATs.
more...less...
JBI also offers tools to help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program to provide the best possible patient care.

Filtered Resources (Appraised Literature): Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

Authors of critically-appraised individual articles evaluate and synopsize individual research studies.

ACP Journal Club
The editors of this journal screen the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article.
more...less...
Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.
Faculty of 1000 Prime
F1000Prime is an in-depth directory to the top articles in biology and medicine. Articles are selected and rated by a peer-nominated global faculty of the world's leading scientists and clinicians. Commentaries on the importance of selected articles are also provided.
"Evidence-Based..." Journal Series
(e.g., Evidence-Based Medicine, Evidence-Based Mental Health, Evidence-Based Nursing) Primary research articles within the discipline are selected for quality and clinical relevance.
more...less...
This series pulls all e-journals containing "evidence-based" in their titles.

Unfiltered Resources (Primary Literature)

Evidence is not always available via filtered resources. Searching the primary literature may be required. It is possible to use specific search strategies in MEDLINE and other databases to achieve the highest possible level of evidence.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. MEDLINE, the authoritative database of the National Library of Mediicne
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid provides citations from MEDLINE, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database of research literature and web resources. The database provides records to articles in the biomedical, life, and social sciences. Coverage is comprehensive and extensive in scope with the database containing all journals currently indexed in both MEDLINE and EmBase.
more...less...
Scopus is updated daily. A noted feature of the database allows users to easily view the number of times an article is cited and connect to its cited references. Other online tools include a journal analyzer that comparatively graphs the number of articles published and total number of citations among other measurable journal impact factors.
Web of Science
Web of Science is composed of three major citation indices covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. The database provides researchers quick access to scholarly information from a large number of high-impact journals, books, and conference proceedings.
CINAHL Complete
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing indexing for more than 3,000 journals, 70 of them full-text. Also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is a searchable database of thousands of abstracts from articles, books, dissertations and more in behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. To limit your search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on Search Options or Edit and select the appropriate type of methodology.

Background Information/Expert Opinion

Note: Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

UpToDate
A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, remote access is not permitted.
more...less...
Both VisualDx and Lexicomp are integrated into the UpToDate database. Lexicomp is only available to TAMBCD patrons.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a point-of-care visual, diagnostic, decision support system organized and searched by symptoms, visual clues, and other patient factors leading to a rapid and accurate differential diagnosis.
more...less...
The database is integrated with UpToDate.
Epocrates Online Premium
Epocrates is a fast and effective clinical point-of-care tool. It organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach, providing continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.
BHSL Evidence Based E-Books
Electronic full-text titles in EDS under the Evidence-Based Medicine subject category.

Evidence-Based Practice: Finding Evidence - EBM Pyramid